Skip to Main Content

Diversity Education: Diversity Resources @ MT.SAC Library

"Diversity education is a challenging task that requires specific knowledge and training...that all faculty and staff should develop to support student development within a safe, affirming environment." D. Scott Thorp (DePaul University)

Diversity Education Resources @ MT. SAC Library

Mt. Sac Library Mission Statement

The Mt. San Antonio College Library supports student success through knowledgeable and effective instruction and service to students, faculty, and staff by educating them to use appropriate resources and technologies for teaching and learning and by providing access to a comprehensive collection that supports the College’s curricula and that serves the needs of our diverse college community.

DREAMERS

DREAMers

Books & eBooks - MT.SAC Library Click on the book cover to link to the Library Catalog

Dreamers : an immigrant generation's fight for their American dream

Dreamers: An Immigrant Generation's Fight for their American Dream by Eileen Truax, 2015, Print Book

The DREAMers : how the undocumented youth movement transformed the immigrant rights debate

The DREAMers : How the Undocumented Youth Movement Transformed the Immigrant Rights Debate by Walter Nicholls, 2013, eBook

Articles - MT.SAC Library Databases

Núñez, Elsa. "Dreamers" Are at the Heart of the American Dream." New England Journal of Higher Education, 03 Mar. 2017, Academic Search Complete EBSCOhost.

Torre, De La, and Roy Germano. "Out of the Shadows: DREAMer Identity in the Immigrant Youth Movement." Latino Studies 12.3 (2014), ProQuest Research Library.

LGBTQ

LGBTQ

Books & eBooks - MT.SAC Library Click on book cover to link to the Library Catalog.

Image result for Dignity for all : safeguarding LGBT students 

Dignity for All: Safeguarding LGBT Students by Peter M. DeWitt, National Association of School Psychologists, 2012, Print Book.

 

 

 

 

 

Expanding the Circle: Creating an Inclusive Environment in Higher Education for LGBTQ Students and Studies by John Hawley, 2015, eBook

Articles - MT.SAC Library Databases

Weinberg, Michael. “LGBT-Inclusive Language.” The English Journal, vol. 98, no. 4, 2009, JSTOR

Linley, Jodi L.1 and David J.2 Nguyen. "LGBTQ Experiences in Curricular Contexts." New Directions for Student Services, vol. 2015, no. 152, Winter2015, Education Full-Text (H.W. Wilson) EBSCOhost

VETERANS

VETERANS

Books & eBooks - MT.SAC Library

    Fields of combat : understanding PTSD among veterans of Iraq and Afghanistan

 

 

 

 

Fields of Combat : Understanding PTSD Among Veterans of Iraq and Afghanistan by Erin Finley, 2001, Print book. 

 Plenty of time when we get home : love and recovery in the aftermath of war

Plenty of Time When We Get Home: Love and Recovery in the Aftermath of War by Kayla Williams, 2014, Print Book

Articles - MT.SAC Library Databases

Olsen, Timothy, et al. "Understanding the Student Veterans' College Experience: An Exploratory Study." U.S. Army Medical Department Journal, Oct-Dec2014, Military and Government Collection, EBSCOhost

Hemmerly-Brown, Alexandra. "From Combat to Classroom." Soldiers, vol. 65, no. 9, Sept. 2010, Military and Government Collection, EBSCOhost

FOSTER YOUTH

FOSTER YOUTH

Books & eBooks - MT.SAC Library

 

   

   

 

 

Achieving Permanence for Older Children and Youth in Foster Care by Benjamin Kermin, 2009, Print Book

Beyond the Foster Care System: The Future for Teens by Betsy Krebs, 2006, eBook

Articles - MT.SAC Library Databases

Merdinger, Joan M., et al. "Pathways to College for Former Foster Youth: Understanding Factors that Contribute to Educational Success." Child welfare 84.6 (2005) ProQuest Psychology Databases

Shin, Sunny Hyucksun. "Building Evidence to Promote Educational Competence of Youth in Foster Care." Child Welfare, vol. 82, no. 5, Sep/Oct2003,  Psychology and Behavioral Sciences Collegtion, EBSCOhost