Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Faculty Resources at the Library: Course Reserves

This guide provides an overview of Mt.SAC Library services and resources for faculty.

What Are Course Reserves?

What are Course Reserves?

They are materials set aside for the use of students in a certain class, at the request of the instructor. They include textbooks, DVDs, articles, etc. 

Students may borrow Reserves items with their Mt. SAC student ID for two hours in the library only, to allow all of the students in the class to have access to the material. 

Putting Materials on Reserves for Your Courses

Putting Items on Reserves for Spring 2022 

Faculty may place materials on Reserve in the following ways:

  • Bring items to the Library Checkout/Reserves Desk during open hours, or
  • Send items through inter-campus mail to Library Checkout/Reserves, or
  • Place items into the Library book drop. Library book drops are located at the information kiosk near Parking Lot B and on the library's north entrance wall (Building 6).   

Each item must be accompanied by a Reserves Form that you can download (below) and print or fill online and print. 

The library does not assume responsibility for lost or damaged personal copies and does not bill students for their replacement costs.    

Course Reserves Terms & Conditions 

  • Mt. SAC Library can ensure items received 5 business days before the beginning of the semester will be available by the first day of classes.  

  • Reserves items will be labeled and barcoded for use with the library system.  

  • Reserves items are for 2-HOUR USE and in LIBRARY USE ONLY.  

  • Reserves items will be reviewed at the end of the semester/session per Fair Use and Copyright compliance.  

  • When personal items are removed from the Reserves Collection, faculty will be emailed to pick up their items. If the items are not picked up within 10 business days, the Library will return them to faculty or departments through campus mail.  

  • The library does not assume responsibility for lost or damaged personal copies and does not bill students for their replacement costs.    

Course Reserves Form 

Course Reserves Form - Printable (Word) 

Course Reserves Form – Online Form 

Putting Items on Reserves for Winter 2022 

Faculty may place materials on Reserve in the following ways:

  • Bring items to the Library Checkout/Reserves Desk during open hours, or
  • Send items through inter-campus mail to Library Checkout/Reserves, or
  • Place items into the Library book drop. Library book drops are located at the information kiosk near Parking Lot B and on the library's north entrance wall (Building 6).   

Each item must be accompanied by a Reserves Form that you can download (below) and print or fill online and print. 

The library does not assume responsibility for lost or damaged personal copies and does not bill students for their replacement costs.    

Course Reserves Terms & Conditions 

  • Mt. SAC Library can ensure items received 5 business days before the beginning of the semester will be available by the first day of classes.  

  • Reserves items will be labeled and barcoded for use with the library system.  

  • Reserves items are for 2-HOUR USE and in LIBRARY USE ONLY.  

  • Reserves items will be reviewed at the end of the semester/session per Fair Use and Copyright compliance.  

  • When personal items are removed from the Reserves Collection, faculty will be emailed to pick up their items. If the items are not picked up within 10 business days, the Library will return them to faculty or departments through campus mail.  

  • The library does not assume responsibility for lost or damaged personal copies and does not bill students for their replacement costs.    

Course Reserves Form 

Course Reserves Form - Printable (Word) 

Course Reserves Form – Online Form 

Putting Items on Reserves for Fall 2021  

Starting June 1st, faculty may place materials on Reserves in the Library book drop with the completed printed Mt. SAC Course Reserves Form. 

Library book drops are located at the information kiosk near Parking Lot B and on the library's north entrance wall (Building 6).   

Each item must be accompanied by a Reserves Form that you can download (below) and print or fill online and print. 

Course Reserves Terms & Conditions 

  • Mt. SAC Library can ensure items received 5 business days before the beginning of the semester will be available by the first day of classes.  

  • Reserves items will be labeled and barcoded for use with the library system.  

  • Reserves items are for 2-HOUR USE and in LIBRARY USE ONLY.  

  • Reserves items will be reviewed at the end of the semester/session per Fair Use and Copyright compliance.  

  • When personal items are removed from the Reserves Collection, faculty will be emailed to pick up their items. If the items are not picked up within 10 business days, the Library will return them to faculty or departments through campus mail.  

  • The library does not assume responsibility for lost or damaged personal copies and does not bill students for their replacement costs.    

Course Reserves Form 

Course Reserves Form - Printable (Word) 

Course Reserves Form – Online Form 

Course Reserves for Summer 2021

This information was sent to All Faculty via email on April 30, 2021.

Please be mindful of dates that may have since passed.

 

While the library is physically closed, we can:   

  • temporarily digitize our current Reserves collection based on students’ requests   
  • accept new physical copies of items for processing and temporary digitization based on students’ requests  

The Mt. SAC Library is committed to supporting students during this unprecedented time.  

How do faculty put an item on Course Reserves?   

Due to COVID-19, the process of putting an item on Course Reserves has slightly changed. Please read about the changes on the Mt. SAC Library Course Reserves Form – Summer 2021 

To place a book on Course Reserves for Summer ‘21, please drop it in one of the library's book drops with the completed form by the dates listed below.   

  • Books dropped off by 05/09/21 will be sanitized, quarantined, cataloged, processed, and available for students' requests by 06/21/21.  
  • Books dropped off by 05/16/21 will be sanitized, quarantined, cataloged, processed, and available for students' requests by 06/21/21. 
  • Books dropped off by 05/23/21 will be sanitized, quarantined, cataloged, processed, and available for students' requests by 06/21/21. 
  • Books dropped off by 06/06/21 will be sanitized, quarantined, cataloged, processed, and available for students' requests by 06/21/21. 
  • Books dropped off by 06/13/21 will be sanitized, quarantined, cataloged, processed, and available for students' requests by 06/28/21. 
  • Books dropped off by 06/20/21 will be sanitized, quarantined, cataloged, processed, and available for students' requests by 07/06/21. 

Library book drops are located at the information kiosk near Parking Lot B and on the library's north entrance wall (Building 6).  

What if my item is on Course Reserves already?  

If your item is on Course Reserves already, you can provide us with information about your Week’s 1-3 readings so we can get a start on preparing it for students’ requests.   

Please complete the Mt. SAC Library Course Reserves (Already in Reserves Collection) form by 05/31/21 and Week's 1-3 readings will be available for students to request by 06/21/21.  

What does this mean for Mt. SAC Students?  

Currently enrolled Mt. SAC students have TEMPORARY digital access to the library’s Course Reserves collection upon request.  See Course Reserves during COVID-19.  

  • The library may complete 2 requests per student per day, and up to 1 chapter per request. (Please note that we’ll do our best to fulfill students’ requests but our capacity to fulfill them may depend on the demand and technology.)  
  • Requests may take up to 4 business days to process.  

What’s a long-term alternative to Course Reserves?  

A possible alternative to Course Reserves is OER (Open Educational Resources). The library works with Mt. SAC Faculty to find, adopt, adapt, and create OER materials. For more information, visit Mt. SAC Library’s OER LibGuide.  

Questions?

If you have additional questions, please don’t hesitate to contact Kolap Samel at ksamel@mtsac.edu or your department library liaison 

What are E-Reserves?

What are E-Reserves?

E-Reserves is an electronic reserves service that allows students to access linked journal articles from the Library’s subscription databases, scanned book chapters and articles, and other materials that faculty may place on Course Reserves as required course readings.

How do students access E-Reserves?

Currently registered Mt. SAC student can access E-Reserves electronically, on or off campus.

Once the E-Reserves material is processed, library staff will provide a url link to the instructor to share with his/her class. It is recommended that the instructor include this url link on the class syllabus.

This url link is password protected. The instructor should share the password with his/her class and include the password on the syllabus also.

Putting Materials on E-Reserves for Your Courses

Putting Materials on E-Reserves

  • Materials are placed on Electronic Reserves (E-Reserves) at the request of Mt. San Antonio College (SAC) instructors for the non-commercial, educational use of their students.
  • Appropriate materials for E-Reserves include, but are not limited to, articles from journals, book chapters, lecture notes, past examinations etc.
  • Persistent links will be provided for articles in licensed journals and databases or for licensed electronic books whenever possible.
  • Instructors placing materials on E-Reserves must complete the E-Reserves form.
  • Instructors placing copyright materials on E-Reserves must review the copyright & fair use guide.
  • For materials not covered by Mt. SAC Library’s license, and or fair use, instructors must obtain permission from copyright holder.
  • Access to materials on E-Reserves is limited by password to students enrolled in each course.
  • E-Reserve course pages are removed at the end of each semester.
  • All E-Reserve courses have the following copyright statement: 
    • The copyright law of the United States (Title 17, United States Code) governs the making of photocopies or other reproductions of copyrighted materials. Under certain conditions specified in the law, libraries and archives are authorized to furnish a photocopy or other reproduction. One of these specified conditions is that the photocopy or reproduction is not to be used for any purpose other than private study, scholarship, or research. If a user makes a request for, or later uses, a photocopy or reproduction for purposes in excess of fair use that user may be liable for copyright infringement.
  • All E-Reserve courses have the following copyright statement: 
  • All materials placed on E-Reserves follows Copyright Guidelines for Course Reserves (see Copyright for E-Reserves tab).
  • All materials placed on E-Reserves must be legally obtained by Mt. SAC Library, Mt. SAC, or the instructor.

Processing Time

E-Reserves materials are processed in the order received and as quickly as possible. Please allow a minimum of five working days, particularly at the beginning of each term. Materials may be added before the term begins or later in the term and are usually processed in a shorter time period.

File Specifications

  • Instructor provides the electronic file.
  • Instructor must ensure that the file is accessible.
  • Maximum of 10 files per course.
  • Files should be an average of 2 MB or less because of storage limits.
  • Allowed file type: .gif, .jpg, .jpeg, .png, .rtf, .pdf, .doc, .docx 

E-Reserves Online Form

 

Copyright for E-Reserves

Copyright Guidelines for Course Reserves are considered in compliance with U.S. Code: Title 17, Section 107 governing Fair Use (see below). Specifically, any reproduction — either photocopied or electronic — of copyrighted material that is placed on reserve will conform to the following:

  • Materials placed on reserve will be made available for students and faculty only while the requesting instructor is actually teaching the course, and will be removed after the course is no longer in session.
  • Book selections placed on electronic reserve from works under copyright will not exceed 10% of the total pages in the source.
  • Journal articles placed on electronic reserve from works under copyright will not exceed one article from any issue of the publication.
  • The above limitations are cumulative over the course of the semester.
  • E-reserves that are reactivated in subsequent semesters for the same course/instructor may require copyright permission. Copyright permission can be sought though the Copyright Clearance Center. Materials for which copyright permission is unavailable may be removed from reserve.

Sec. 107 - Limitations on Exclusive Rights: Fair Use

Notwithstanding the provisions of sections 106 and 106A, the fair use of a copyrighted work, including such use by reproduction in copies or phonorecords or by any other means specified by that section, for purposes such as criticism, comment, news reporting, teaching (including multiple copies for classroom use), scholarship, or research, is not an infringement of copyright. In determining whether the use made of a work in any case is a fair use the factors to be considered shall include -

  1. the purpose and character of the use, including whether such use is of a commercial nature or is for nonprofit educational purposes;
  2. the nature of the copyrighted work;
  3. the amount and substantiality of the portion used in relation to the copyrighted work as a whole; and
  4. the effect of the use upon the potential market for or value of the copyrighted work. The fact that a work is unpublished shall not itself bar a finding of fair use if such finding is made upon consideration of all the above factors.

Note: The electronic provision of copyright-protected works for library reserve service and distance learning are unsettled areas of the law which may be addressed by judicial decisions and/or legislation. Mt. SAC Library will continually monitor legal developments that may affect the Fair Use analysis of e-reserves to ensure that library services are following the letter and spirit of the U.S. copyright law.

Question(s)

Contact ksamel@mtsac.edu or your department library liaison.