Research Guides: History of Mexico: Recommended Websites

Resources on Mexican Revolution

The Mexican Revolution and the United States
Library of Congress collection tells the dynamic story of the complex and turbulent relationship between Mexico and the United States during the Mexican Revolution, approximately 1910-1920, featuring extraordinary items from many parts of the Library including letters from U.S. President William Howard Taft (1909-1913), photographs, books, manuscripts, interactive maps and timeline.

Online newspapers from the Mexican Revolution Period:

El Paso Herald from the Library of Congress
El Paso Morning Times through the Portal to Texas History
Excelsior from (Mexico City) and other Mexican newspapers from Latin American Newspapers Online from Readex
La Prensa and other U.S. Spanish-language newspapers from Hispanic American Newspapers, 1808-1980 (NewsBank/Readex)
Other newspapers from the period may be available through NewspaperArchive.com.

The Library collections at the University of Texas at El Paso (UTEP) have photos from the Mexican Revolution Period:

Zapatistas! contains documents of the New Mexican Revolution

National Security Archive

founded in 1985 by journalists and scholars to check rising government secrecy, the National Security Archive combines a unique range of functions: investigative journalism center, research institute on international affairs, library and archive of declassified U.S. documents ("the world's largest nongovernmental collection" according to the Los Angeles Times), leading non-profit user of the U.S. Freedom of Information Act, public interest law firm defending and expanding public access to government information, global advocate of open government, and indexer and publisher of former secrets.

Recommended Websites

The North American Congress on Latin America - Mexico
NACLA is an independent, nonprofit organization founded in 1966 to examine and critique U.S. imperialism and political, economic, and military intervention in the Western hemisphere. It has a mission to publish historically and politically informed research and analysis on Latin America and the Caribbean and its complex and changing relationships with the United States.
History.com: Mexico
Articles, videos and images of many regions of Mexico and many aspects of Mexican history.
Becoming Part of the United States (LOC)
In 1846, everything changed. War broke out between the U.S. and Mexico over the U.S. annexation of Texas. Mexico was defeated, and in 1848 the two nations signed the Treaty of Guadalupe Hidalgo. This treaty gave the victorious nation an enormous amount of land, including what would later become the states of California and Texas, as well as parts of Colorado, Arizona, New Mexico, Utah and Nevada, in exchange for a token payment of $15 million.
Ancient Mesoamerican Civilizations
This page supplies information regarding Mesoamerican Civilizations. The primary groups addressed are the
Maya, Mixtec, Zapotec, and Aztec.

Photographs and More

Mexico: Photographs, Manuscripts, and Imprints
The Southern Methodist University's DeGolyer Library holds over 1,000,000 images that are rich in Western U.S. and Mexican photography. It has a comprehensive collection of Mexico from the period ca. 1865-1935 totally 16,000 photographs and negatives.
The Mexican Food Revolution
The Smithsonian's online collection features 70 years of Latino food history, from a circa 1940 tortilla press to California vineyard tools used by the Robledo family. The exhibition draws on the museum’s bracero farm labor collection and highlights new objects collected to show the influence of immigrants and migrants on the American table, including the diffusion of Mexican-inspired food into all corners of the country.

History of Mexico

Search Google better

Google Advanced Search

Resources on Mexican Revolution

Recommended Websites

Photographs and More