Research Guides: History of Mexico: Beginning Your Research

Reference Sources

What? Reference sources, such as subject encyclopedias and dictionaries, contain overviews and background information. They sometimes contain statistics, definitions and lists of resources for further study.

Why? Reference resources help you choose, explore and develop your topic! When you have a better understanding of your topic, it will be easier to focus your research question or theses.

Where? Reference sources are available in print and library online databases:

Print reference sources are in the library's Reference Collection. They are for library use only.
Online reference sources are available 24/7 via library databases, such as Gale eBooks, CQ Researcher, etc. Portal login required for remote access.

Reference Books Online

All library online material is available 24/7. Log in with your portal username and password.

Try this online reference source from the EBSCO eBook Collection:

Mexico: From Montezuma to NAFTA, and Beyond by Jaime Suchlicki
Call Number: ebook
The author, a Professor of History and leading expert on Latin America, explains how Mexico's present and future flow directly from its past. This book is an engrossing introduction to the Indian civilization, the harsh rule of the Spaniards, social violence and revolution, and the country's mercurial relationship with the United States up to the turn of the 21st century.

Reference Books about Mexican History - Library Use Only

Encyclopedia of Archaeology: History and Discoveries by Murray, Tim
Call Number: 930.1 En19h REF
Written by the most authoritative scholars from around the world, a massive treasurehouse of information on all aspects of archaeology, from prehistory to the present day.
Encyclopedia of Mexico: History, Society & Culture by Werner, Michael S.
Call Number: 972.003 En19 REF
Encyclopedia of Modern Mexico by David W. Dent
Call Number: 972.08 D434e REF
This encyclopedia aims to provide an essential tool for those interested in a better understanding and appreciation of Mexico. With more than 250 separate entries covering 15 major thematic topics, the reference book focuses on the important individuals, institutions and events that illustrate the modern development of Mexico since 1940.
Mexico Today: an Encyclopedia of Life in the Republic
Call Number: 972.0842 M574 v.1 REF
Provides a timeline of events of modern Mexico from 1968 to the present day. Includes about 50 photographs that illustrate many aspects of contemporary Mexico
Oxford Encyclopedia of Mesoamerican Cultures: the Civilizations of Mexico and Central America by Carrasco, David
Call Number: 972.01 Ox2 REF
3 vols. Entries offer information on the geography, history, arts, literature, religion, and architecture of Pre-Hispanic, Colonial, and modern Mesoamerican cultures that span from central Mexico to present-day Costa Rica.