Research Guides: Veterinary Technology: Clinical Skills Resources

General Clinical Skills

Tasks for the Veterinary Assistant by Teresa Sonsthagen
Publication Date: 2020
Tasks for the Veterinary Assistant is the definitive, practical guide to the vital skills and techniques used in daily practice--bringing together all the information necessary to succeed as a veterinary assistant in one reader-friendly volume.

Veterinary Collection
This streaming video collection brings a much-needed visual component to veterinary students’ lessons, facilitating learning in often subtle ways textbooks alone cannot. Its more than 240 titles will help students gain a strong foundation in animal anatomy, physiology, and behavior while learning basic veterinary procedures and an understanding of the workplace.

Veterinary Consult

Blackwell's Five-Minute Veterinary Consult
This link leads to a list of results in OneSearch for books in the series Blackwell's Five-Minute Veterinary Consult. Books include Canine and Feline, Equine, and Small Animal Emergency and Critical Care.

Veterinary Medical Terminology

Black's Veterinary Dictionary (online) by Edward Boden (Volume Editor); Anthony Andrews (Volume Editor)
Publication Date: 2015
Black's Veterinary Dictionary is an essential reference tool for all with a professional or leisure interest in the care of animals. Much more than a list of veterinary terms, its practical approach ensures that readers gain an insight into the signs and symptoms of common, and less common, diseases, their diagnosis and treatment.
An Illustrated Guide to Veterinary Medical Terminology by Janet Amundson Romich
Publication Date: 2015
Providing the ultimate terminology reference for veterinary assistants and technicians, this book provides an engaging, systematic approach to learning medical terms and understanding basic principles of veterinary medicine. Focusing on how medical terms are formed, analyzed, and defined, the text discusses anatomical landmarks, the positioning of animals, and the relationships between body parts. Case studies illustrate how medical terminology is experienced in real-world practice.
Saunders Comprehensive Veterinary Dictionary by Virginia P. Studdert; Clive C. Gay; Kenneth W. Hinchcliff
Call Number: REF 636.089 Sa872 2022
Publication Date: 2021
Saunders Comprehensive Veterinary Dictionary, 5th Edition includes the veterinary technical and scientific words and phrases you might encounter in practice. There are over 60,000 main and subentries including large animals, small animals, and exotics, presented in a user-friendly format.

Glossary in Merck Veterinary Manual
This is a list of terminology and their definitions, used in the Merck Veterinary Manual.

Veterinary Patient Education

The following resources are designed for (human) patients without a veterinary background. They can help patients better understand diagnoses, services, procedures, and other topics related to veterinary medicine.

Health Topics (College of Veterinary Medicine, Cornell University)
The Cornell site offers a variety of articles, brochures, and videos online for anyone concerned with pet health and behavior.
Merck Veterinary Manual: Pet Health & Wellness
The content in this tab of the website is designed for use by pet owners in their home care for their animals. The information is derived from the professional-focused Merck Veterinary Manual. Basic, and some medical, information for owners is covered, as well as special subjects such as emergencies and pain management.
Veterinary Partner
Veterinary Partner is the product of the Veterinarian Information Network, Inc (VIN). It committed to the well-being of companion animals by providing the finest and most accurate pet health information.

Veterinary Pharmacology

Mosby's Veterinary PDQ by Margi Sirois
Publication Date: 2019
Enter every examining room with confidence! Mosby's Veterinary PDQ, 3rd Edition is the pocket-sized reference that provides you with quick access to hundreds of veterinary medicine facts, formulas, lab values, and procedures. Ideal for the clinical setting, coverage includes key topics such as pharmacology, math, animal care, common diseases, diagnostic procedures, imaging techniques, parasite identification, urinalysis, blood tests, and other lab work.
Plumb's Veterinary Drug Handbook by Donald C. Plumb
Publication Date: 2015
Plumb's Veterinary Drug Handbook is a guide to drug dosing information for animals available, now with fewer dosages per indication, making it quicker and easier to make a dosage decision. Designed to be used every day in the fast-paced veterinary setting Includes dosages for a wide range of species, including dogs, cats, exotic animals, and farm animals