Research Guides: Psychology Research Guide: Home

Introduction

The Library currently offers two workshops created specifically for psychology students:

Reading Scholarly Article in Psychology.

Finding Empirical Studies in PsycArticles.

This guide also contains a page with APA style resources, as well as tips for finding information about psychological tests.

Click on the tabs at the top of this guide to visit the different pages.

Psychology Databases

PsycARTICLES This link opens in a new window
Consists of full-text articles from scholarly journals in applied, developmental, educational, social, experimental human and animal psychology, personality, psychological and physical disorders, physiological psychology and neuroscience, psychometrics and statistics, and sports psychology and leisure. Coverage varies from journal to journal with the oldest going back 1894.
Psychology Database This link opens in a new window
Contains full text for over 540 titles on behavioral, clinical, cognitive, developmental, experimental, industrial and social psychology, along with personality, psychobiology and psychometrics.
Psychology and Behavioral Sciences Collection This link opens in a new window
Includes full-text articles about emotional and behavioral characteristics, psychiatry and psychology, mental processes, anthropology, and observational and experimental methods.
Research Library: Social Sciences This link opens in a new window
Includes full text articles from scholarly journals, professional and trade publications, and general interest magazines covering sociology, psychology, communications, political science, linguistics, criminology, and education.
Films on Demand This link opens in a new window
Includes streaming full-length videos and video clips covering multiple topics. Once on the database website, click on the menu icon on the upper left corner to filter by subject.

Tutorials, updates, and more

PsycARTICLES Thesaurus Update (Winter 2024)
APA Publishing Blog
Training materials and information about updates to APA databases and electronic resources.
APA YouTube Channel

Psychology Dictionaries & Encyclopedias (Reference eBooks)

Psychology dictionaries provide definitions of terms. These can be used to clarify meaning and to find additional search terms for your research. The titles listed here are just a few available from the Mt SAC Library. The title links to the ebook version.

APA Dictionary of Psychology by Gary R. VandenBos; American Psychological Association Staff (Contribution by)
ISBN: 9781433819445
Publication Date: 2015-02-01

Psychology encyclopedias provides an overview of concepts, methodologies, and theories in psychology. These are a good source for background information on a topic. The title links to the eBook version

The Corsini Encyclopedia of Psychology and Behavioral Science, 4 Volume Set by W. Edward Craighead (Editor); Charles B. Nemeroff (Editor)
ISBN: 9780471239499
Publication Date: 2000-12-11