Research Guides: Paralegal Research: Finding Aids

Dictionaries/Thesauri

Black's Law Dictionary 9th ed. by Bryan A. Garner. 2009.
Call Number: REF 340.03 B565l

This is the standard legal dictionary- your go-to source for legal definitions.
The most recent edition is kept behind the Reference desk. Earlier editions are available in general reference and in the stacks.
Ballentine's Thesaurus for Legal Research & Writing by Jonathan S. Lynton. 1994.
Call Number: REF 349.73 L993b

Use to identify legal terminology. Kept at the Reference Desk.

How To: Legal Research

Legal Research: How to Find and Understand the Law, 15th ed. by Stephen Elias
Call Number: REF 340.072 E1421 (at Reference Desk)
Locating the Law by Southern California Association of Law Libraries (SCALL)
Need help with your research? Southern California Association of Law Libraries put together this guide to help, with everything from reading citations to finding California statutory law.
The Process of Legal Research, 6th ed. by Christina L. Kunz
Call Number: REF 340.072 P941 2004 (at Reference Desk)

Legal Encyclopedias

Legal Encyclopedias are a good place to start research on a topic. These resources can give you an overview of a topic in a brief summary, and will provide terms, additional concepts, and case citations for your further research. Print encyclopedias cannot be checked out. REMINDER: always start with the index! It will save you time in the long run. It is also imperative to check pocket parts/supplements for updated information and additional case citations on the topic you're researching. You MUST have the latest information to be successful in your research.

Cal Jur (California Jurisprudence) by Bancroft-Whitney Company.
Call Number: REF 345.22 C128j

Deals with legal topics in an encyclopedic format. The scope of each topic is discussed. Citations to California cases are listed in the footnotes. Includes references to other Cal Jur entries. This source may be used to find California case law.
American Jurisprudence 2d
Call Number: Accessible through Westlaw Campus Research database

Coverage of all fields of American law—state and federal, civil and criminal, substantive and procedural.

Finding California Case Law

Summary of California Law by Witkin, (This is the one known as "Witkins")
Call Number: REF 345.2 W78s

Contain the most used sections of the law. Case citations are included in the text. Good place to start the search for case law.

These resources can give you an overview of a topic in a brief summary, and will provide terms, additional concepts, and case citations for your further research. REMINDER: always start with the index! It will save you time in the long run. It is also imperative to check pocket parts/supplements for updated information and additional case citations on the topic you're researching. You MUST have the latest information to be successful in your research.

California Criminal Law. 3rd ed. by Witkin and Epstein
Call Number: REF 347.794 W78cc
California Evidence by Witkin.
Call Number: REF 347.794 W78c
California Procedure by Witkin
Call Number: REF 347.794 W78cp
West’s California Digest, 2d.
Call Number: REF 348.794 W52

A classification scheme for legal topics/subjects. It gives a key (symbol) for each topic. The end of each section includes information on the actual point of law under discussion, as well as cases relating to the topic being discussed.

Use the Right Tool for the Job

Background & overview: Reference Resources

Current events & public opinion: Popular books & magazines

Research & analysis: Scholarly journal articles & books