Research Guides: Nursing: Articles (Journals & Periodicals)

Select Periodicals

American Journal of Nursing
The American Journal of Nursing (AJN), the oldest and largest nursing journal in the world, is an award-winning, peer-reviewed, monthly journal publishing a broad range of highly readable articles.

JAMA
The most widely circulated peer-reviewed general medical journal in the world. Their primary mission is promote the science and art of medicine and the betterment of the public health.
New England Journal of Medicine
A weekly general medical journal that publishes new medical research findings, review articles, and editorial opinion on a wide variety of topics of importance to biomedical science and clinical practice.

In addition current and archived journal access, it includes access to Videos in Clinical Medicine, 65 videos across medical specialties, and Images in Clinical Medicine, a collection of over 900 images.
Nursing Forum
A peer-reviewed journal with a mission to explore, explicate or report issues, ideas, trends and innovations that shape the nursing profession.
Nursing Outlook
This journal provides innovative ideas for nursing leaders through peer-reviewed articles and timely reports. Each issue examines current issues and trends in nursing practice, education and research, offering progressive solutions to the challenges facing the profession.

Recommended Databases

CINAHL Plus
CINAHL (Current Indexing to Nursing and Allied Health Literature) contains the full text of journal articles including legal cases, clinical innovations, critical paths, drug records, research instruments and clinical trials.
Health & Medical Collection
Includes full-text articles from clinical research, consumer, and health administration publications in anatomy, physiology, biochemistry, pharmacology, microbiology, immunology, pathology, communicable diseases, psychiatry, gynecology, obstetrics, dermatology, pediatrics, and geriatrics.
Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition
Provides the full text of journals focusing on nursing and allied health disciplines. Includes generic drug patient information sheets.
PubMed
PubMed comprises over 23 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Citations may include links to full-text content from PubMed Central and publisher websites.
Research Library: Health & Medicine
Includes full text articles from scholarly journals, professional and trade publications, and general interest magazines covering medical science, nursing, allied health, public health, and pharmacology.

CINAHL Tutorials

PubMed Tutorials

Medical Subject Headings (MeSH)

PICO

A clinical question needs to be directly relevant to the patient or problem at hand and phrased in such a way as to facilitate the search for an answer. PICO makes this process easier. It helps formulate the search strategy by identifying the key concepts that need to be in the article that can answer the question.

PICO or PICOTT:

(P)ATIENT OR PROBLEM
How would you describe a group of patients similar to yours? What are the most important characteristics of the patient?

(I)NTERVENTION, EXPOSURE, PROGNOSTIC FACTOR
What main intervention, exposure, or prognostic factor are you considering? What do you want to do with this patient?

(C)OMPARISON
What is the main alternative being considered, if any?

(O)UTCOME
What are you trying to accomplish, measure, improve or affect?

(T)ype of Question
Therapy / Diagnosis / Harm / Prognosis / Prevention

(T)ype of Study
Systematic review / RCT / cohort study / case-control

The well-built clinical question: a key to evidence-based decisions
Richardson, WS. et al. ACP Journal Club, v123:A12, Nov-Dec, 1995.