Skip to Main Content

Ethnic Food: Library Resources

The guide is created for NF 28 Cultural and Ethnic Foods for Professor Basile

Ebooks

The Italian Way
Curry: a global history
Jewish American Food Culture
Encyclopedia of Food and Culture
Latino Food Culture
The Land of the Five Flavor
Food Culture in Mexico

Citation Style Guide

  MLA News on Twitter: "Four new internships added! https://t.co/7Y5JbjtJJl… "

Find Background Info with Gale eBooks

Attribution

This guide was adapted with permission from the NUTR 108 Class Guide created by Stacey von Winckelmann at MiraCosta College.   

Library Help

  • Keep them brief and concise.
    • "chinese food"  or try  "chinese cuisine"
  • Spelling counts! Make sure you don't misspell your keywords.
  • Join multiple terms with "and" & "or"
    • food culture AND Vietnam
    • chilis OR peppers
    • dutch OR Holland OR Netherlands AND food
  • Avoid using words from your assignment such as "core foods" or "flavor principles". These are not terms that work in the databases. Instead, you will need to use other keywords to discover the "core foods" and "flavor principles" for the country you're studying. 

Keep in mind that keyword searching is not an exact science and you'll need to experiment with many different combinations to get the results you want.

Using Keywords in a Database

  1. Go in broad by searching with your main topic only. Then narrow your results by adding in additional keywords.

  2. Search for each aspect of your topic separately.

  3. Don't assume you're going to find one book or article that covers all aspects of your topic.

For remote access, log in with your portal username and password

Reference Database

Academic Database

Cross-search all EBSCO databases (close to 30); magazines, journals, ebooks, news and primary sources, covering multi-disciplinary topics.

Need more? Check out our OneSearch. It searches across many of our library databases at one time.

Try Films on Demand for online videos. Below are a few samples.

A Feast Of African-American Culinary Contributions, Baked Into The South's DNA

In chef and culinary historian Michael Twitty's new book, ancestry—both his own and that of Southern food—is a central theme. With The Cooking Gene: A Journey through African-American Culinary History in the Old South, Twitty addresses the complicated story of race, culture, and food and its legacy today. Jeffrey Brown talks with Twitty about his mission in writing this book.

Cuban Food Stories: The Culinary Traditions of Cuba

After a decade living in the United States, Asori Soto returns to his homeland of Cuba to search for the missing flavors of his childhood - a journey to discover culinary traditions long thought lost.

The Raw and the Cooked

Taiwan is known around the world as having one of the most diverse cuisines in Asia, and food is the foremost passion of its 23 million inhabitants. "The Raw and the Cooked" is a sumptuous exploration of the island’s rich culinary traditions, and their relationship to Taiwan’s unique mix of cultures. 

A Chef's Journey

For Chef Zoe Adjonyoh food has played a vital role in helping her to connect to a country and a culture that she was, initially, unfamiliar with.

 

MLA

To cite a personal interview treat the person being interviewed as the author. Then identify the type of interview. Lastly, list the date of the interview.

In-Text Citation Format: (Last Name of Person Who Was Interviewed)

In-Text Citation Example: (Palmer)

Note: If the name of the person who was interviewed is mentioned in the sentence leading into the quote or paraphrased content, you do not need to repeat it in the in-text citation:

Example: Palmer explained that "the Maori culture had a profound impact" on her family's traditions.

Works Cited Format:

Last name of interviewer, First name of interviewer. Interview type [email, phone, personal interview].

Works Cited Example:

Palmer, Sherry. Personal interview. 4 Mar. 2018.

For more information, check out the MLA Style Center.

APA

No personal communication is included in your reference list; instead, parenthetically cite the communicator's name, the phrase "personal communication," and the date of the communication in your main text only.

In-Text Citation Format: (First initial, Last name, type of interview, date of interview)

In-Text Citation Example: (S. Palmer, personal communication, March 4, 2018)
 
Note: If the name of the person who was interviewed is mentioned in the sentence leading into the quote or paraphrased content, you do not need to repeat it in the in-text citation:
 
Example: Sherry Palmer also stated that many of her family's food traditions stemmed from their New Zealand heritage (personal communication, March 4, 2018).

Reference List Format:

Last name of interviewer, First Initial interviewer. (Year, Month Date). Interview type [email, phone, personal interview].

Reference List Example:
Palmer, S. (2018, March 4). Personal interview.

For more information, check out the APA Style Blog.

Attend free library research workshops in-person or self-paced in Canvas.