Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Open Educational Resources (OER)

This guide provides resources and tools for faculty wishing to implement open educational resources (OER) in their courses.

Search for OER

OASIS by SUNY Geneseo

 

Openly Available Sources Integrated Search (OASIS) is a search tool that aims to make the discovery of open content easier. OASIS currently searches open content from 97 different sources and contains 385,629 records. OASIS is being developed at SUNY Geneseo's Milne Library.

Open Textbooks Only

Milne Open Textbooks

Milne Open Textbooks is an open access textbook publishing initiative established by State University of New York (SUNY) libraries. It contains a catalog of open textbooks authored and peer-reviewed by SUNY faculty and staff.

Open BCcampus

Funded by British Columbia's Ministry of Advanced Education, BCcampus OpenEd has a collection of 180 peer-reviewed open textbooks covering Sciences, Trades, Business & Management, Liberal Arts & Humanities, Social Sciences, Upgrading Programs, Health Related, and Recreation, Tourism, Hospitality & Service.

Open Textbook Library

The Open Textbook Library has a collection of over 100 peer-reviewed and openly licensed titles in a wide range of disciplines. It is supported by the Open Textbook Network, a collaboration of library partners from colleges and universities across the country.

OpenStax

OpenStax is an open textbook publisher based at Rice University. Its collection mainly focuses on general education classes, and their textbooks are peer-reviewed. Additionally, they have at-cost print versions of their textbooks for sale.

Open Textbooks & Supplemental Materials

CCCOER

Conveniently organized by format/type, CCCOER has listed resources into categories such as books, subject specific resources, open textbooks, open access journals, etc.

CCCOER List

Created by Dr. Larry Green from Lake Tahoe Community College, this list is harvested from the Community College Consortium for Open Educational Resources (CCCOER) listserv conversations and a few other sources. It is a work in progress and grows as more suggestions come in.

LibreTexts

Based out of UC Davis, LibreText is an "online platform for the construction, customization, and dissemination of open educational resources (OER)." 

 

MERLOT

The MERLOT collection consists of tens of thousands of discipline-specific learning materials. All items have been contributed by the MERLOT member community, who have either authored the materials themselves, or who have discovered the materials, found them useful, and wished to share their enthusiasm for the materials with others in the teaching and learning community.

Additionally, you can find peer reviews from CCC, CSU and UC faculty on its associated site COOL4Ed.

OER Commons

OER Commons is a public digital library of open educational resources. Explore, create, and collaborate with educators around the world to improve curriculum.

Open Oregon Educational Resources

Promotes textbook affordability for community college and university students, and facilitates widespread adoption of open, low-cost, high-quality materials.

SkillsCommons

SkillsCommons has a collection of open career and technical education materials. SkillsCommons’ mission is to accelerate the democratization of education for all through open educational services and resources enabling individuals, communities, educational institutions, organizations, and businesses to prepare people for successful employment in the 21st Century.

Search for OER in Google

Using Google Advanced Search is a great way to find resources by license type. Here are directions on how to use Google Advanced Search to find materials with open licenses.

Using Google Advanced Search to find OER

  1. On the Google Advanced Searchpage, scroll to the bottom and look for the "usage rights" field. (Links to an external site.)
  2. Change the "usage rights" field to "free to use share or modify" or "free to use, share or modify, even commercially" depending on what type of license you want.
  3. Use the other fields to plug in key words and to narrow your results.
  4. Hit the "Advanced Search" button.
  5. The results page should show only Creative Commons resources. Make sure to verify exact license type and terms of use. 

You can watch the following video for a demonstration of  a Google Advanced Search:

Here are a few more Google search tips:

  1. To find specific types of websites such as .gov or .edu type in the search box Site:.gov or Site:.edu.
  2. To eliminate specific websites or words you can use a minus symbol before the word. For example if you want to search for something but do not want Wikipedia to show up in the results simply type in the search box -Wikipedia.
  3. Use quotations around a phrase to search for results containing that exact phrase. For example search for "climate change" will return less, but more relevant results than searching for the phrase without quotation marks.

"Open Education Week: Finding Open Educational Resources" by David Wiley is licensed under CC BY 4.0

Open Courses