Research Guides: Women's History: Find Articles

What are periodicals?

Periodicals Room

A periodical is anything that is published periodically (weekly, bi-weekly, monthly, quarterly, etc.). It includes

newspaper
magazine
journal

Why do I need periodicals for my research paper?

Because they are published frequently, periodicals are the best sources for current information.
Current events are usually discussed in periodicals long before they become the subject of a book.
Periodicals often contain information on the latest trends, products, research and theories.

General / Multiple-Topic Databases

General / Multiple-Topic databases cover a wide range of subjects. They are a good starting point. Below are two of them. Use your portal login to access the databases when you're off-campus.

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
This multi-disciplinary database provides full text for more than 8,500 full-text periodicals, including more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals. It also includes magazines and newspaper articles. You can limit your search by date. Coverage varies from journal to journal.
Research Library (Proquest) This link opens in a new window
Includes full text articles from scholarly journals, professional and trade publications, and general interest magazines covering business, health & medicine, history, literature & language, science & technology, social sciences, and arts.

History-Specific Databases

America: History & Life with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Provides full-text coverage of more than 200 journals and nearly 100 books, and indexing for 1,700 journals from 1955 to present, focusing on the history and culture of the United States and Canada, from prehistory to the present.

Issues & Controversies in American History This link opens in a new window
Provides a concise summary of the background, outcomes, and contemporary points of view on major topics in American history. Issues covered include religious freedom in the colonies, Civil War Reconstruction, and women's suffrage. Entries are supplemented by primary source documents, biographies, timelines, images, statistical charts, and encyclopedia survey articles.
Los Angeles Times (ProQuest Historical Papers) 1881-1993 This link opens in a new window
Covers politics, society and events that were published in the Los Angeles Times from 1881 – 1993.
Research Library: History This link opens in a new window
Includes full text articles from scholarly journals, professional and trade publications, and general interest magazines covering civilizations, historical studies, military history, periods & events, U.S. and world history.
Salem History This link opens in a new window
Includes the full-text of Milestone Documents in American History, The Decades in America, Great Lives from History, and Great Events from History. Includes some primary source documents.