To search the Library OneSearch for primary source materials, try adding one of the following terms to your search:
e.g. labor activist letters
Los Angeles Times (ProQuest Historical Newspapers) 1881-1993 -- Remote access requires portal login
Covers politics, society, and events that were published in the Los Angeles Times.
Chronicling America: Historic American Newspapers
Includes a newspaper title directory (1690 - present) and searchable digitized images of selected local and regional newspapers (1880- 1922).
California Digital Newspaper Collection - University of California Riverside
Contains historical California newspapers published from 1846-present, including the first California newspaper, the Californian, and the first daily California newspaper, the Daily Alta California.
Millions of photographs from the LIFE Magazine photo archive, dating from the 1870s to the 1970s.
National Archives Digital Photography Collection
Photographs from the National Archives and Records Administration collections
New York Public Library Digital Photography Collections
Historical photographs from several NYPL collections on subjects such as dance and theater, early prints and photographs, and views of the United States.
United States Geological Survey Denver Library Photographic Collection
An archive of more than 500,000 photographs and sketches dating from the 1870s and taken by USGS scientists as part of their field studies. Subjects include geologic formations, minerals, historical mining operations, national parks, and other photographs of historic and earth science events.
Digital Public Library of America Primary Source Sets
Primary source collections exploring topics in history, literature, and culture including photographs, documents, and ephemera.
Library of Congress Digital Collections
All of the digitized collections at the Library of Congress, including photographs, sheet music, maps, documents, audio and video recordings on a wide variety of topics and time periods.
New York Public Library Digital Collections
Large collection of digitized manuscripts, posters, photographs, maps, and menus from a variety of collections and subject matter, including fashion, theater, and LGBTQ history.
The USC Digital Library offers digital images of drawings, illuminated manuscripts, maps, photographs, posters, prints, rare illustrated books, as well as audio and video recordings representing the sciences, fine and decorative arts, history, performing arts, and social sciences.