Database by Content Type

Delivers access to high-quality and comprehensive information in the Encyclopædia Britannica plus Merriam-Webster’s Collegiate Dictionary and Thesaurus, magazines and periodicals, and many other research tools that students need to consult when conducting thorough research—all from one resource.

Includes definitions of art terms, critical periods, movements, techniques, foreign terms and styles in the visual arts.

Includes full text entries from dictionaries, encyclopedias, biographical, statistical, and quotation sources covering all major subjects.

Composed of entries describing and defining critical thought on art, culture, and society. A comprehensive survey of major concepts, thinkers, and debates about the meaning, uses, and value of all the arts – from painting and sculpture to literature, music, theater, dance, television, film, and popular culture. It also includes in-depth surveys of Western aesthetics and broad coverage of non-Western traditions and theories of art.

Composed of entries covering the science, policy, and social issues surrounding global warming and climate change. Includes specific descriptions and explanations of all the factors that might contribute to climate change. Provides a variety of perspectives on both traditional and more recent views of the earth’s resources.

Cross searches the full text of more than one hundred encyclopedias, almanacs, and specialized reference sources covering arts and humanities, biography and genealogy, business, careers, education, literature, history, philosophy, information industry, law, government, medicine and health, multicultural studies, countries, religion, science, social studies, sports, technology, and women’s studies.

Scholarly art encyclopedia covering both Western and non-Western visual art. It includes full text articles, biographies, bibliographies, timelines, and searchable images. It also includes the Concise Oxford Dictionary of art Terms, the Encyclopedia of Aesthetics, and the Oxford Companion to Western Art.

Includes full text articles about composers, performers, conductors, instruments and notation, forms and genres, and individual works of music Includes from Grove Music Online, the Oxford Companion to Music, and the Oxford Dictionary of Music.

Most authoritative dictionary in the English language. It traces the meaning of 600,000 words from across the English-speaking world from their beginnings to the present, and includes pronunciations.

Includes bilingual dictionaries in Arabic, Chinese, French, German, Italian, Russian, and Spanish.

Includes full text entries from dictionaries, encyclopedias, biographical, statistical, and quotation sources covering all major subjects.

Cross searches the full text of more than one hundred encyclopedias, almanacs, and specialized reference sources covering arts and humanities, biography and genealogy, business, careers, education, literature, history, philosophy, information industry, law, government, medicine and health, multicultural studies, countries, religion, science, social studies, sports, technology, and women’s studies.

Focuses on current events and controversial issues of the day. Each report includes an introduction, overview, background, current situation, outlook, pro/con, chronology, maps/graphs, bibliography, next steps, and contacts.

Provides a concise summary of issues and controversies in today's news, covering business, politics, government, education, and popular culture. Each entry includes historical background on the issues and a synopsis of all sides of the debate. Also includes editorial cartoons and statistics.