Searching for Health Information - ACCS ILSHS - Independent Living Skills - Human Sexuality - Research Guides at Mt. San Antonio College

Welcome to the Library!

This guide is designed to help you with your assignment to research sexually transmitted diseases (STDs), also known as sexually transmitted infections (STIs).

Frequently Asked Questions about STDs (MedlinePlus)

Relevant Websites

California Department of Public Health - STD Branch
This includes information about STDs, including data and statistics
Center for Disease Control (CDC) Health Topics
This includes information on a variety of health topics-- including STDs/STIs.
Mayo Clinic - Patient and Health Information
This includes information on a variety of health topics, including STDs/STIs.
MedlinePlus
MedlinePlus is an online health information resource for patients and their families and friends. It is a service of the National Library of Medicine (NLM), the world's largest medical library, which is part of the National Institutes of Health (NIH)
MedlinePlus en español
MedlinePlus es un servicio informativo en línea de salud para pacientes, familiares y amigos. Es producido por la Biblioteca Nacional de Medicina de Estados Unidos (NLM, por sus siglas en inglés), la biblioteca médica más grande del mundo y parte de los Institutos Nacionales de la Salud de EE. UU. (NIH).
National Institute of Health - Health Information on STDs
This includes information about STDs/STIs and their treatments.
STD Data and Statistics (CDC)
This website contains statistics about STDs in the United States.

Library Books and Media

You can search for books and media (streaming videos, DVDs) in the Library's collection by using OneSearch.

Here are a few examples:

Sexually Transmitted Diseases Sourcebook by James Chambers
Call Number: General Collection; 616.95 Se92

Offers consumer health information about risk factors, symptoms, testing, and treatment of sexually transmitted diseases and related complications, along with facts about prevention strategies. Includes index, glossary of related terms, and other resources.
Sexually Transmitted Disease: an Encyclopedia of Diseases, Prevention, Treatment, and Issues [2 Volumes] by Jill Ann Grimes (Editor); Lori Apffel Smith (Editor); Kristyn Fagerberg (Editor)
This work contains over 230 entries that span the history and wide range of topics regarding STDs, from the birth of condoms over 3,000 years ago through discovery of the infectious agents and the invention of effective vaccines to the legal and societal implications of STDs.
Netter's Infectious Diseases Book by Elaine C. Jong; Dennis L. Stevens
Netter's Infectious Diseases provides a comprehensive yet concise overview of current global infectious disease concerns. This includes some, but not all, STDs and STIs.

Health News and Updates

Health Source – Consumer Edition
Includes the full text of consumer health magazines, covering health topics such as medical sciences, food sciences and nutrition, childcare, sports medicine and general health.