Delivers access to high-quality and comprehensive information in the Encyclopædia Britannica plus Merriam-Webster’s Collegiate Dictionary and Thesaurus, magazines and periodicals, and many other research tools that students need to consult when conducting thorough research—all from one resource.
Composed of entries describing and defining critical thought on art, culture, and society. A comprehensive survey of major concepts, thinkers, and debates about the meaning, uses, and value of all the arts – from painting and sculpture to literature, music, theater, dance, television, film, and popular culture. It also includes in-depth surveys of Western aesthetics and broad coverage of non-Western traditions and theories of art.
Composed of entries covering the science, policy, and social issues surrounding global warming and climate change. Includes specific descriptions and explanations of all the factors that might contribute to climate change. Provides a variety of perspectives on both traditional and more recent views of the earth’s resources.
Cross searches the full text of more than one hundred encyclopedias, almanacs, and specialized reference sources covering arts and humanities, biography and genealogy, business, careers, education, literature, history, philosophy, information industry, law, government, medicine and health, multicultural studies, countries, religion, science, social studies, sports, technology, and women’s studies.
Scholarly art encyclopedia covering all aspects of Western and non-Western visual art. Includes the full text of the Dictionary of Art, the Concise Oxford Dictionary of Art Terms, the Encyclopedia of Aesthetics, and the Oxford Companion to Western Art. These sources can be searched together or separately. Also includes searchable images of works of art, maps, and line drawings.
Offers the full texts of The New Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians, 2nd edition (2001), The New Grove Dictionary of Opera(1992), and The New Grove Dictionary of Jazz, 2nd edition (2002), as well as numerous subsequent updates and emendations. Also includes more than 50,000 signed articles and 30,000 biographies contributed by over 6,000 scholars from around the world.