Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Elections 2020: News, Polls, & Information

Information regarding the November 3, 2020 elections in the United States.

Polls

Gallup - Election Issues

Current regional and national polls conducted by the Gallup Organization.

Fox News Polls

Based on landline and cell phone interviews with 1000 randomly chosen registered voters. It is directed by both Beacon Research (D) and Shaw & Company Research (R).

Marist National Poll

Run by the Marist College Institute for Public Opinion at Marist College in Poughkeepsie, New York. It "measures public opinion at the local, state, and national level." It was founded in 1978 and "was the first college-based research center to include undergraduates in conducting survey research."

Pew Research Center for the People & the Press

Sponsored by the Pew Charitable Trusts, this non-partisan site focuses on public attitudes toward politics and public policy, among others.

Quinnipiac University Polls

An independent poll that surveys nationwide about "state and national elections, and issues of public concern, such as schools, taxes, transportation, municipal services and the environment."

Websites

FactCheck.org

"A nonpartisan, nonprofit 'consumer advocate' for voters that aims to reduce the level of deception and confusion in U.S. politics. FactCheck monitors the factual accuracy of what is said by major U.S. political players in the form of TV ads, debates, speeches, interviews and news releases."

OpenSecrets.org: Center for Responsive Politics

The Center for Responsive Politics is a nonpartisan, independent and nonprofit research group tracking money in U.S. politics and its effect on elections and public policy.

PolitiFact.org

A project of the Tampa Bay Times, PolitiFact reporters and researchers examine statements by members of Congress, state legislators, governors, mayors, the president, cabinet secretaries, lobbyists, people who testify before Congress and anyone else who speaks up in American politics. These statements are analyzed and rated for accuracy on the Truth-O-Meter – True, Mostly True, Half True, Mostly False and False. The most ridiculous falsehoods get the lowest rating, Pants on Fire.

Mt. SAC Newspaper Databases (requires Mt. SAC login)

Los Angeles Times 1985 - current

Includes full text of the Los Angeles Times newspaper from 1985 to present.

US Major Dailies

Provides full text access to five major US national and regional newspapers, including The New York Times and Washington Post, The Wall Street Journal, and exclusive access to Los Angeles Times and Chicago Tribune. Coverage: 1980 – current.

US Newsstream

Contains full-text to newspapers, news websites and blogs from throughout the world as well as local news such as the San Gabriel Valley Tribune and the Pasadena Star News, regional, and national news. Also includes the Los Angeles Times, New York Times, Wall Street Journal, Chicago Tribune, Boston Globe, USA Today, and The Sentinel.

US West Newsstream

Includes the most recent regional news content, as well as archives back to the 1980s featuring newspapers, newswires, and news sites in active full-text format. West Newsstream covers news sources from Alaska, California, Hawaii, Idaho, Nevada, Oregon, Utah, and Washington.

Thanks

This guide is based on the Foothill College's Herbert H. Semans Library Election 2020 Reference Guide.