Skip to main content

Faculty Resources at the Library: Library Collection

This guide provides an overview of Mt.SAC Library services and resources for faculty.

Collection Organization

The Library uses Dewey Decimal Classification System (DDC) to shelve materials on the stacks. 

Visit us and use the DDC handout to check out the collection in your subject area, or talk to your subject librarian liaison

Print & Audio/Visual Collection

Books: located in different collections:students looking at books in front of bookshelves

  • General collection
  • Reference collection
  • Children's Books
  • Vocational Books
  • McNaughton Books (many of them on national bestseller lists)

Media: include DVDs, audio books (and playaways), and music CDs.

Periodicals: newspapers, magazines, and journals        

 

Print Periodicals

Picture of the Periodicals section in the library

The Periodicals Room, also known as a Silent Study Area, has print magazines, newspapers, and journals. They are shelved alphabetically by title.

Online Collection Highlights

We subscribe to over 100 online databases that you can access 24/7. These online databases contain different types of content including:

online databases contents

 

Access to Online Resources

- Current Mt. SAC students, faculty, & staff have 24/7 access to library databases. Log in with your portal username & password for off-campus or mobile access.

- Contact the IT Help Desk, (909) 274-4357 if you have problems getting into portal.

Getting security warning? Try the troubleshooting tips