Research Guides: Career & Job Search: Start

Start

Where do you find general information about the career you are researching,

for example: firefighters?

U.S. Navy photo by Mass Communication Seaman Barry Rile

Read the profiles of the careers that you're interested in. Learn the job duties, the eduation required, salary information, job outlooks, and more.

Occupational Outlook Handbook
A nationally recognized source of career information, designed to provide valuable assistance to individuals making decisions about their future work lives. The Handbook is revised every two years.
California Labor Market Information Overview
Includes job description, job outlook, wages, qualification requirements, plus additional resources.

Online Encyclopedias can be accessed 24/7. Off-campus use is limited to current Mt. SAC students, faculty and staff. Login is required.

College Majors Handbook with Real Career Paths and Payoffs by Neeta P. Fogg; Paul E. Harrington; Thomas F. Harrington; Laurence Shatkin
Provides information on the actual jobs and earning of college graduates in 50 majors. Based on an updated US Census Bureau study for 170,000 college graduates, this handbook offers accurate and helpful information for choosing college majors or deciding what to do with a degree that's already been earned.
Top 100 Careers Without a Four-Year Degree by Michael Farr; Laurence Shatkin
With this comprehensive resource, you will explore 100 careers that don't need a bachelor's degree; assess which of these careers match their skills; and learn how to get a job quickly.
Career Guide to America's Top Industries by U. S. Department of Labor Staff
This book provides excellent explanations of more than 40 major industries and includes the following details on each one: significant points, nature of the industry, working conditions, employment, occupations in the industry, training and advancement, earnings, outlook and sources of additional information.

Vocational Reference books can not be checked out, but you can use them at the Library. Below is just a sample.

Encyclopedia of Careers and Vocational Guidance
Call Number: VOC REF 331.7 En19 2018
Remains the most comprehensive career reference in print. Comprehensive career information provides a clear picture of what it takes to launch a successful career.

Use CollegeSource Online to identify universities offering degrees or certificates for your careers.

CollegeSource Online This link opens in a new window
Created to assist students in selecting a college or university, it includes catalogs (in PDF format), websites, institution profiles, and Google maps for community colleges, 4 year colleges, and universities in the U. S. and abroad. May be searched by institution name, by country, or criteria, such as tuition, enrollment, degrees and more. Geographic searching is available for U. S. schools.