Focuses on current events and controversial issues of the day. Each report includes an introduction, overview, background, current situation, outlook, pro/con, chronology, maps/graphs, bibliography, next steps, and contacts.
Compendium of statistics from over 1000 sources and over 37,000 data series and on a wide variety of topics, among them population, economics, migration, slavery, American Indians, health, crime, and poverty.
Provides a concise summary of issues and controversies in today's news, covering business, politics, government, education, and popular culture. Each entry includes historical background on the issues and a synopsis of all sides of the debate. Also includes editorial cartoons and statistics.
Provides a concise summary of the background, outcomes, and contemporary points of view on major topics in American history. Issues covered include religious freedom in the colonies, Civil War Reconstruction, and women's suffrage. Entries are supplemented by primary source documents, biographies, timelines, images, statistical charts, and encyclopedia survey articles.
Provides full text to an archive of scholarly journals covering a wide variety of disciplines such as ethnic studies, social sciences, art, business, economics, history, sciences, math, area studies, and language and literature.
Go-to reference source for U.S. statistics brings together thousands of tables from hundreds of sources. Published annually by the federal government since 1878 and now in electronic format it is updated monthly.